Making Your Own Snacks Saves You Money – My Protein Ball Recipe

When trying to save money on organic foods, stay away from the organic snack aisle (for the most part).  One delicious treat I absolutely love to make is protein balls.  They are cheap, easy and depending what you put in them, can be really good for you!

Recently I used almond butter instead of peanut butter as my main protein ingredient and it turned out AMAZING!  Here’s my recipe:

1/4 cup honey (or 1/8 cup maple syrup)
1/2 heaping cup almond butter
1/2 cup whole oats1 tbsp cocoa
1/4 tsp vanilla (optional)
Crushed freeze dried banana (this works great) (optional)
Handful of mini chocolate chips
Hemp seed

Mix all the ingredients (except the hemp) together.  I like mine to be a bit stickier because then they are a bit chewier.

photo(54)

Chill for about 1 hour then roll into balls.  Roll balls in hemp seed.  Keep chilled and store in a ziplock bag.

photo(53)

Now, these are not very “clean” to take on the go, so what I did was mix the hemp seed with the rest of the ingredients and baked them into a bar as well!  Press flat (however thick you prefer) into a baking tray and bake for 10 minutes at 350C.  Cut into bars and wrap in saran wrap or store in ziplock bags.  Freeze to keep them fresh and pull out when you need one for on the go! 

I daresay these delicious treat are tastier than some cookies!  They are certainly a must have for me once our baby arrives.

(I’ll post a picture of the bars once they come out of the oven).

 

Leave a Reply

