Homemade Sparkling Lemon Juice

I love San Pellegrino Limonata.  In the summer time and during my first trimester, it is an absolutely favorite and a must.  With mostly natural flavours, it is a good substitute for pop, but unfortunately it is just so darn expensive!  Most stores sell the 6 pack for $5.99, and Costco sells a 24 pack (right? 24 pack?) for just under $16, which makes it about $4 for six cans.  That is a really good deal, but last night at Costco I just didn’t want to fork over the money for it.

Months ago I accidentally bought club soda (long story) and I had no idea what to do with it until now.  I mixed 1 tbsp of sugar with 1 tbsp-ish of lemon juice, then filled my glass with this club soda.  After adding an ice cube it tasted almost identical!

photo(68)

I bought my lemon juice for under $2, the 1kg of sugar for under $2 (and obviously I’m not going to use the whole 1kg on just these drinks) and the 12 pack of club soda for $3.99!  I haven’t done the exact math (and I can if you want), but making my own sparkling lemon juice is just as delicious and certainly cheaper than buying San Pellegrino Limonata.

Oh.  And did I mention, there are almost no calories in it other than your tablespoon of sugar?  I’m going to see if I create other “pop” flavours to enjoy this summer!

photo(69)

 

 

 

One thought on “Homemade Sparkling Lemon Juice

Leave a Reply

