Sugar and Pectin Free Crab Apple Jelly

I’ve been wanting to make a sugar-free/pectin-free and after a quick Google search, I thought I’d try this recipe.  Because I love experimenting with food and recipes, I made some tweaks to it.  Here’s what I did.

1. I boiled 4 quarts of crab apples for about twenty minutes.  Next time I’ll add cinnamon sticks to it to make my house smell even more amazing than it did.

photo(47)

Look at that lovely juice!

2. After boiling, I put some apple into a sifter and began pressing them with a spoon to squeeze out the lovely pulp.

photo(48)

See that brightly coloured pulp?

3. As I pressed the apples, the pulp and applesauce mixed with each other in the bowl, so then I put over top of a pot, taped the sides so it wouldn’t move, and dumped the applesauce into it.  I stirred the applesauce slowly and the pulp start to drip into the pot.  The cheese cloth prevented any applesauce from getting through.

photo(64)

photo(65)

4. Once I pressed all the applesauce and all my pulp was in the pot, I added ¼ cup lemon juice, 1 cup organic apple juice, ½ cup water, 1 ⅓ cups raw, farmer’s market honey.  Turn it on to medium heat to boil.  If you turn it on high, it will boil over and you not only lose a ton of jam, it is VERY difficult to clean afterwards.

photo(67)

6. I boiled it for the recommended amount of time, dumped it into the mason jars, then sealed it by boiling it in a pot of boiling water.  My jelly did NOT set.  It was a beautiful clear liquid that when mixed with sparkling water tasted like pop, but it was not spreadable at all.

photo(66)

My jelly, applesauce and crab apple liquor!

7. The next day I decided to try again.  This is where I changed things a bit.  I poured all the jelly back into a pot and boiled it on medium heat for about a half an hour!  Once it started to look like it was frothing, I took it off and watched as it thickened before my eyes.  I poured it into mason jars and it set beautifully!  It’s quite a bit thicker than I expected, but definitely spreadable and better than liquid!

photo(68)

It’s not nearly as clear as before I gave it a 30 minute boil, but it is set and ready to enjoy during the winter!

This week I am pickling carrots and beans!  Next month I’m attending a fermenting class and hope to ferment foods all winter long!

2 thoughts on “Sugar and Pectin Free Crab Apple Jelly

Leave a Reply

