What My Picky Eater Ate This Week

My picky eater – Ben, 2 years old – ate three new things this week:

1) Apple chips.

photo(28)

Not only did he eat these, he knew they were apples.  That apples were fruit.  That he was putting fruit in his mouth.  And swallowing.  And asking for more.  I just about passed off.  While this small bag is a little pricey at $2.99, it is worth every, single penny.  My child ate fruit.

2) Butter chicken.

photo(103)

photo(102)

I’m not a huge fan of corn starch or canola oil, but they are the last ingredients on the list so there’s not a ton.

Who’d have thought that he’d eat butter chicken.  It is completely and totally random and not something I would have guessed to be compatible with his palate.  I was wrong.  He had THREE PIECES OF CHICKEN at dinner.  While he may have passed on the broccoli, I was more than thrilled that those three morsels of protein made it into his little belly.

3) Nuts.

photo(101)

Cashews. Almonds. Peanuts.  While he loves peanut butter, he has previously chewed up nuts, made sure all the salt had been thoroughly sucked off, then proceeded to spit out said chewed nuts.  This did not happen last week.  We sat together happily eating our nuts.

4. Bacon.

photo(100)

Ben has never liked bacon – weird, I know – until he tried this.  He LOVED this bacon bought from Spud.ca and had multiple pieces at brunch.  This big pack of thick sliced, all natural bacon lasted us three meals.

That’s what my picky eater ate this week.  If you have a picky eater, did you manage to get anything new or healthy in them?

None of these products were organic, but they were certainly whole foods with ingredients I recognized and could pronounce.  That’s a win for me.

2 thoughts on “What My Picky Eater Ate This Week

Leave a Reply

